13abc wins 11 Ohio Associated Press Media Editors awards

Rogers Girls Varsity basketball team wins state championship
March 22, 2018
Alain Trudor
Meet the new music director for the Toledo Symphony Orchestra, Alain Trudel
March 26, 2018
Show all


COLUMBUS, Ohio (WTVG) – 13abc has once again been honored with more Ohio Associated Press awards than any other station in Toledo.

13abc won 11 awards in the annual Ohio Associated Press Media Editors broadcast competition in Columbus Saturday.

Twenty broadcasters submitted 262 entries in the contest, which featured news, sports and weather reporting as well as features, documentaries and photography from 2017.

Entries were judged by broadcasters from WLUC-TV, Negaunee, Michigan and WJFW-TV, Rhinelander, Wisconsin.

Here is the complete list of winners from 13abc.

– 1st Place for Best Producer: Dakota Cleland
– 1st Place for Best Sportscast: 13abc
– 1st Place for Best Enterprise Reporting: Melissa Voetsch and Justin Billau, “Anatomy of an Overdose”
– 1st Place for Best Documentary or Series: “From Heroin to Hope”
– 2nd Place for General Excellence: 13abc
– 2nd Place for Best Anchor: Bill Hormann
– 2nd Place for Best Sports Feature: “Field of Dreams.”
– 2nd Place for Best Coverage of a Scheduled Event: “North American International Auto Show”
– 2nd Place for Best Spot News Coverage: “Mistrial in Death of Firefighters”
– 2nd Place for Best Newscast: 13abc
– 2nd Place for Best Weathercast: 13abc